(Photo source: Flickr user DonkeyHotey)

Defiant House Progressives and progressive organizations have been speaking out against Obama’s proposal to cut Social Security and veterans benefits with a “chained CPI.”

In 2011, 66 House Democrats who still serve today signed a letter saying “cutting Social Securityai??i??s already modest benefits is unacceptable and we will reject any legislation that extends the chained CPI to Social Security, veterans and disability, or childrenai??i??s benefits.”

Meanwhile, the Congressional Progressive Caucus, which represents 75 Members,Ai??issued an official statement this week saying that “tying Social Security to chained CPI is a benefit cut and members of the CPC will not vote for a deal that cuts the benefits that millions of Americans rely on.”

Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-OH), the incoming chair of the Congressional Black Caucus, is on both lists, and issued her own powerful statement yesterday against these cuts.

At the Progressive Change Campaign Committee, we did a cross-check of the two lists and found that 96 sitting and voting Members (we excluded non-voting delegates) of the House Democratic caucus have signed onto statements either last year or this year saying they would not vote for legislation that uses chained CPI to cut benefits. That’s a majority of the caucus, which includes 191 members.

Here are the names of these 96 Members:

  1. Ed Pastor (AZ)
  2. RaA?l Grijalva (AZ)
  3. Lynn Woolsey (CA)
  4. George Miller (CA)
  5. Barbara Lee (CA)
  6. Pete Stark (CA)
  7. Janice Hahn (CA)
  8. Michael Honda (CA)
  9. Sam Farr (CA)
  10. Xavier Becerra (CA)
  11. Judy Chu (CA)
  12. Karen Bass (CA)
  13. Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA)
  14. Maxine Waters (CA)
  15. Laura Richardson (CA)
  16. Linda SA?nchez (CA)
  17. Jared Polis (CO)
  18. Rosa DeLauro (CT)
  19. Corrine Brown (FL)
  20. Frederica Wilson (FL)
  21. Hank Johnson (GA)
  22. John Lewis (GA)
  23. Mazie Hirono (HI)
  24. Bobby Rush (IL)
  25. Luis Gutierrez (IL)
  26. Danny Davis (IL)
  27. Jan Schakowsky (IL)
  28. AndrAi?? Carson (IN)
  29. Dave Loebsack (IA)
  30. Chellie Pingree (ME)
  31. Donna Edwards (MD)
  32. Elijah Cummings (MD)
  33. John Olver (MA)
  34. Jim McGovern (MA)
  35. Barney Frank (MA)
  36. John Tierney (MA)
  37. Ed Markey (MA)
  38. Mike Capuano (MA)
  39. John Conyers (MI)
  40. Hansen Clarke (MI)
  41. Keith Ellison (MN)
  42. Bennie Thompson (MS)
  43. William Lacy Clay, Jr. (MO)
  44. Emanuel Cleaver (MO)
  45. Frank Pallone (NJ)
  46. Rush Holt (NJ)
  47. Ben R. LujA?n (NM)
  48. Jerry Nadler (NY)
  49. Yvette Clarke (NY)
  50. Nydia VelA?zquez (NY)
  51. Carolyn Maloney (NY)
  52. Charles Rangel (NY)
  53. JosAi?? Serrano (NY)
  54. Maurice Hinchey (NY)
  55. Louise Slaughter (NY)
  56. Mel Watt (NC)
  57. Brad Miller (NC)
  58. Marcy Kaptur (OH)
  59. Dennis Kucinich (OH)
  60. Marcia Fudge (OH)
  61. Earl Blumenauer (OR)
  62. Suzanne Bonamici (OR)
  63. Peter DeFazio (OR)
  64. Bob Brady (PA)
  65. Chaka Fattah (PA)
  66. David Cicilline (RI)
  67. Steve Cohen (TN)
  68. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX)
  69. Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX)
  70. Peter Welch (VT)
  71. Jim Moran (VA)
  72. Jim McDermott (WA)
  73. Tammy Baldwin (WI)
  74. Gwen Moore (WI)
  75. Ai??Joe Baca (CA)
  76. G.K. Butterfield (NC)
  77. Kathy Castor (FL)
  78. Mark Critz (PA)
  79. Ted Deutch (FL)
  80. Eliot Engel (NY)
  81. Colleen Hanabusa (D-HI)
  82. Alcee Hastings (FL)
  83. Al Green (TX)
  84. Gene Green (TX)
  85. Dale Kildee (MI)
  86. Doris Matsui (DA)
  87. Carolyn McCarthy (NY)
  88. Grace Napolitano (CA)
  89. Jim Pascrell (NJ)
  90. Nick Rahall (WV)
  91. Silvestre Reyes (TX)
  92. Steve Rothman (NJ)
  93. Bobby Scott (VA)
  94. Mike Thompson (CA)
  95. Paul Tonko (NY)
  96. Ed Towns (NY)

Click here to see which members of Congress have spoken out most boldly this week, and chip in $1 to each of their campaigns to say thanks

Click hereAi??to pledge to hold any Democrat who agrees to a deal that cuts Social Security, Medicare, or Medicaid benefits accountable.

Click hereAi??to call your Member of Congress and demand that they oppose this bad deal.